Mashing ’em up: Mashups

May 19, 2008

I’m still not feeling my best this week, so I’m not too happy with how this week’s entry has turned out.

Mashups are web applications that are combinations of other different web applications.

The potential for this is endless. An already good application is used to create bigger, better applications with much more features. The people who make these applications, and whose applications are being used, allow this because it allows for better development of the technology and more resources to use.

One online program that gets implemented into many different mashups is Google Maps. There is a blog that actually tracks what mashups are being made using this application called Google Maps Mania. The latest site featured on that blog is Everyscape, where they incorporate Google Maps into an application that lets you see a street view of a location. The creators of Google Maps allow this because of the uses that can be gained from such sharing. If they were to restrict use of the application, then we wouldn’t have so many other resources out there.

This relates back to the open source movement because people are allowing the code to be improved upon. Just like Firefox lets people view their open source so that they can get greater and more useful user feedback about the equipment, API makers allow their applications to be used so more uses can come from the application.

I personally view mashups as a wonderful thing. There are so many different combinations of applications, you could almost make a mashup that will track your neighbors movements. Almost.

A website I found useful is Programmable Web. It tracks several different mashups that are out there. It’s a very useful tool if you want to find a mashup, or if you want to find an application to be included in your own mashup.

5 Responses to “Mashing ’em up: Mashups”

  1. jdbosley said

    I enjoyed looking at the everyscape mashup. Even though Google maps already includes all of the streetview technology, it is nice to be able to just click on a point of interest and be whisked there to look at the street view. I remember the first time I noticed street view on Google Maps, I was looking up aereal views of my new house and saw the street view button. Clicked on it and ::tada:: there was my house, some neighbors out on the side walk, it was pretty impressive. Google is so amazing, if she would have me, I might marry her. 🙂

  2. Lindsey said

    Nicole, I hope you’re feeling better for class this week. I added the Google Maps Mania to my Google Reader feed because I think it is an interesting blog. It is totally insane all the things people are doing with mashups and Google Maps. You’re right- the potential for this is endless. Everyscape is also a great use of mashup technology. I like how easy it is to see reviews associated with places on a certain city block.

    And I laughed at both your line about tracking your neighbors and Jonathan’s comment about asking Google for her hand in marriage. Very hilarious.

  3. jlphannah said

    Everyscape is awesome. There are a number of real estate agencies and apartment sites that have a similar setup called Virtual Tour, but its mainly restricted to just a few rooms.

    I was disappointed that they didn’t have areas of Japan up on the site. Hopefully they will soon.

    The Programmable Web link doesn’t work. I would really check it out.

    I hope you get to feeling better soon. Take care.

  4. jdbosley said

    What area of town do you live in? Yeah, I look at zillow.com pretty often to check up on the current value of the house I bought in January (congrats on getting a house that far under market value by the way) and I really like the Microsoft mapping software that they use on the site.

  5. mwcain81 said

    Very cool sites. It is cool that there are so many open source projects out there. I of course am a huge proponent of Firefox and all the addons that can go with it. To me that seems like what the mash ups are, they are an addon of the original content allowing it to be accessed and used in different ways.

Leave a Reply

