Reflection on the Blogging Experience

June 9, 2008

Will I continue blogging? Most definitely.

There’s something special in seeing my writing online for everyone to see. If I see some pingbacks or comments, it tells me that I provided something that people would want to read, which is good feedback as to what I should and should not include in a post. It also helps keep me in touch with other people interested in the topic, since people who comment most likely have a blog similar to mine. Besides, seeing my writing published somewhere public always gives me a nice fuzzy feeling. I wouldn’t trade that feeling, no matter how lazy I can be.

Will I continue the direction in which my personal blog is headed? That I’m not so sure about. I like the topic I chose, but it can be hard to search for relevant topics and do the research needed since it’s not something that is not often talked about in blogs, at least in ones I’ve seen. What I may do is slowly edge it more towards Mac-oriented material. I will be a Mac owner by the end of this week, and I’ve constantly been searching for new information on the subject. With Boot Camp included on all new Macs, I’m sure there are many, many more people out there like me who would also like to read about this topic. I like the gratification I get from my original topic, but I want to have a blog that is useful to others as well. Maybe what I’ll do is keep the blog like it is and make a new blog dedicated solely to Macs and their features? Another topic I could tackle is old blues music, since I do have an interest in that, as well as many 78’s that are just calling to be put online. (Of course there’s the issue of copyright, but I think that’s a moot point with music that old, which would most certainly be in the public domain by now.) That would be interesting, and it would be something people would go back to. I just have to decide what I want, since I cannot possibly maintain four blogs without either going crazy or dropping any sort of real life or spare time.

I was on getafreelancer.com looking at some of the posts, and it seems that people do include their blogs in their resumes, especially in ones that require some writing in blogs or otherwise. That’s just another reason to continue a good blog: resume padding. A well-developed blog shows employers you can stick with something for an extended amount of time. Usually.

This post was written and on Zoho and posted using their tools. They even have an HTML editor, in case you want to add your own personal touches directly into a word document. Yes, this is free, blatant advertising for them. I don’t like that the spellcheck isn’t constant, but what do you expect for something already as awesome as this? They probably couldn’t utilize the browser’s spellcheck for technical reasons. They’ll probably add it on later. 

Leave a Reply

